Saint Augustine’s College was founded by the Very Reverend Frederic U. Frey, O.S.B., the then Prior of The Bahamas, and the school’s first Headmaster from 1945 to 1963.
On January 4, 1945, 35 boys gathered in a small two-story house known as The Niche in the priory yard near St. Francis Xavier Church in Nassau, Bahamas, on West Hill Sts, forming St. Augustine's School.
On January 13, 1947, the first classes were conducted in the newly built monastery in Fox Hill. The enrollment was 50 boys and the school day lasted from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm
In 1965, classes began in the complex that was built below the hill. Two years later, In 1967, St. Augustine’s became a co-instructional high school with the arrival of girls from then Xavier's College, founded in 1956 by the Sisters of Charity. Boys and girls shared the same teaching facility, but in separate classes.
77 years later, St. Augustine's College is proud of the fine young men and women who have graduated and gone on to make their mark on The Bahamas and the world at large.
Watch the video below in which new principal, Ms. Marici Thompson '80, elaborates on SAC's rich history and legacy.
Read a detailed history of SAC here.